Use BookBrowse to find your next page turner!

This week we want to talk about BookBrowse and what a great resource it can be for patrons. The BookBrowse database is available from BPL’s homepage and offers book reviews, book suggestions, read-alikes, and even online reading clubs. If you are stuck and looking for a new author to try out or if you want to venture into a new genre completely, this is the database for you! This week we will talk about the Read-Alike feature.

Read-Alike: This feature gives you a great option for finding books that have similar characteristics to those you have already read. All you need is a title of a book you loved, or even an author, and the database will give you similar results based on a formula of sorts. These results could have a similar plot, writing style, or tone. This is a great way to read new authors and series while still sticking with a genre you already know you enjoy!

For Example: If you really enjoyed the book Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn you would type that title into the Read-Alike search function. From there you will select “See Read-Alikes” and the next page will give you the results. Each of the results will give the book title, the author, and a short description of the book.